Pianist Yana Avedyan with String Ensemble

Air Date:
Heard On Midday Classics with Norman Gilliland
Photo of pianist Yana Avedyan

Pianist Yana Avedyan performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D-minor with members of a string ensemble including Peter Miliczky and Biffa Kowk, violin; Joshua Dieringer, viola; Stephanie Knapper, cello and David Scholl, Bass.

Avedyan made her debut as soloist with the Manhattan Chamber Orchestra in 2011 playing Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488. She holds a Bachelor of Music degree from SUNY Plattsburgh, a Master of Music from UW-Madison and is currently a DMA candidate in piano performance at the UW-Madison. In 2013 she was one of the winners of the Annual Shain Woodwind Piano Duo Competition. In 2014 she was one of the winners of the Annual Beethoven Competition.

Yana Avedyan Vicky Powell
Pianist Yana Avedyan and string quintet accompanists – WPR Studio photo by Allen Rieland

Episode Credits

  • Norman Gilliland Host
  • Tom Blain Technical Director
  • Allen Rieland Technical Director

Related Stories