, , ,

Southeastern Wisconsin To Get Federal Assistance For Manufacturing

US Secretary Of Commerce Penny Pritzker Designates 7 Wisconsin Counties As A Manufacturing Community

Jim Bauer (CC BY-ND 2.0)

The greater Milwaukee area will get more federal help with its efforts to boost local manufacturing.

For the second time, the U.S. Commerce Department has designated seven counties in southeastern Wisconsin as a manufacturing community under the federal Investing In Manufacturing Communities Partnership.

The Milwaukee 7 initiative first won the designation in 2014, which regional economic officials said gives the area greater consideration as it seeks federal funds for economic development projects.

Stay informed on the latest news

Sign up for WPR’s email newsletter.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Dave Misky with the City of Milwaukee’s Redevelopment Authority said the first step is to bring industry leaders, government officials and other stakeholders together to coordinate their efforts to support manufacturers and their workers.

“Everything from workforce and training, to the supply chain network, to seven catalytic public infrastructure projects, including in Milwaukee, the Century City redevelopment area,” Misky said.

The region has been working with a federal liaison who helps secure assistance from 12 federal departments and agencies.

The initiative is focusing on three industries – energy and power, water technologies, and food and beverage.

Sip in style! WPR Insulated Camp Mug $30/month. Give Now.